30 December 2009

NOTD- Charlotte Russe Grey and Wet N Wild Craze Glitz


Hello loves! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas or holiday break. Here is a NOTD post and a baby review. Pictures first!
[as always, click em to make them bigger]

close up of the glitter:
This is my first grey polish and my first Charlotte Russe polish. The formula wasn't so bad, this was four coats of grey and one of the WnW topped with Seche Vite. The wear wasn't so great, however, it chipped within 36 hours and I took it off shortly afterwards.
I liked the CR polish, but it's not something I would buy any more of. It was less than 4$, but I would gladly take my China Glaze or Rimmel, even my Wet n Wild over this.

What is currently on your nails?

19 December 2009

Pixi Softly Smoky Palette Review/Comparsion


So remember how we talked about the pop beauty pin up pop palette?
And I told you I was disappointed. You would know that if you clicked that nifty linkage right up there.
The Pixi Softly Smoky Palette is what I wanted the pop palette to be and more.
[click to make the pictures bigger!]
annnnd here it is compared next to the pop palette:

The Pixi palette was also 9.99US$ They also had a neutral one composed of nothing but browns/golds/pretty colors and such that I bought for my best friend. The pigmentation on this one ROCKS! It blows the pop one out of the water. The colors are more in the same family than the pop one which seems to be all over the place. Unlike the pop palette however, it has no matte shadows. That doesn't bother me because I'm not really a big matte shadow user.

The colors blend really well when using a primer, base, or both. They are vibrant and stay vibrant. Not going to lie, the main reason I bought this was the second color- that gorgeous purple with gold sparkles that looks almost blue in the picture. I love it.
The first look I did was one I wore to the symphony, I used the shimmery peach color from the pop palette then the purple from the Pixi palette. The purple stayed vibrant and in place all night. I took these pictures after I got home and the peach color has faded out and looks a tad gross in my opinion. 


The second look I did was using the light purple along with the dark purple with the white as my highlight color. Bonus? The white has a pink duochrome. A strong one. Ah-mazing. This is after TEN hours of wear. Hello, I live in Florida and this was on a really hot day.

One thing that drove me nuts about this was the way it came packaged. The pop palette came closed, so you couldn't see the inside. These are sold flat and you can see the colors/mirror, so to get the magnets that hold it close to actually close it, I had to leave it shut under a heavy book overnight. It was kind of a pain, and the packaging it came in was really cheap. My best friend's had to be re-glued shut when I got home because it was splitting open. This palette is also less than six inches long and has a mirror much like the pop beauty palette. The outside design is light green and very simple, no pin up girls or sparrows, but I like it.

All in all, I really like this palette. I would totally buy it again and I obviously bought one for someone else after using mine.

Tell me if you have either palette and if you like it or not. Would you rather get the pop or the Pixi and why?

17 December 2009

Holiday-ish Face Of The Day!


My holiday face of the day.I tried recording a tutorial on this but it apparently didn't save, so a blog post is just as good.
What I used:
Hard Candy Tinted Moisturizer
NYC Transparent Loose Powder
Rimmel blush in Pink Rose
Covergirl Wetslicks Amazemint gloss in red riot
VS Pro Eye Primer
H.i.P. paint in secretive
Coppery-gold color from my Jasmine Labelle palette on the lid
Dark green from my Physician's Formula Green Eyes Shimmer Strip in the crease, blended out
Matte dark green from my pop beauty mini palette on top of the shimmery green, focused on the outer corner
Skintone highlight color- a matte one
H.i.P. cream liner in black- top lashline only
NYX white eyeliner on lower waterline
Eyelash curler
Maybelline Colossal Lash in glam black
Maybelline Lash Stiletto in very black

I know a lot of people do variations on this look, but here's mine. What do you say? Would you recreate it and wear it?

12 December 2009

Collective nails of the day post!


I don't have anything to post right now since I am at a friend's for the weekend, and I have had these pictures from my nails for the past few months just sitting on my computer.  Be warned that most, if not all, are taken by my camera phone. 

[click to make bigger]
O.P.I. Ink-taken underwater to show the blurple-ness of it.
French mani done with Nailene flesh toned polish with sparkles and my Migi nailart pen
Icing Cosmo Cutie with Orly Dazzle for the tips
Some horrible pink Sally Hansen polish with a stripe of CG For Audrey. Excuse the mess.
China Glaze For Audrey tips with silver Migi pen
China Glaze VIII with Migi nail art pen in silver and white
Orly Matte Vinyl
Orly Matte vinyl with Orly Dazzle

Personally, I love Orly most of all. China Glaze wears the second best on myself, while O.P.I usually peels off within 24 hours. I use Seche Vite for most of these, except the matte which I kept looking good with a coat of China Glaze's Matte magic. I used Out The Door as my fast dry topcoat before Seche and I will be switching back after I am done with this bottle of Seche. It's less expensive and dries rock hard and stays put, unlike Seche that makes my polish peel, not chip. O.P.I. is also the most expensive and the hardest to find in my area. I have to go to Ulta which is 45 minutes away, just to find it. Orly and China Glaze are both found within a mile of my house at Sally's Beauty Supply. Orly is the least expensive, with China Glaze not far behind.

Do you find it is the same way for you? Or do you prefer a different kind of polish?


07 December 2009

Hard Candy Review!


Pictures here:)

Video here:

Love most of it so far:) Hoping to try lip products next!
Hard Candy doesn't test on animals and all the prices are reasonable. I think they are from 4-10US$. You can find them at Walmart and they are US exclusive. Questions about anything? Have you tried anything yet? Tell me in the comments.

02 December 2009

Nails Of The Week-November 30th


Hiya guys! Coming at you with my nails of the week. On day three of this mani and love it!

Here's what I used:
Clear base coat-any kind you want
Three coats of China Glaze- For Audrey
Seche Vite Quick Dry Top Coat
Migi Nail Art Pen- mine is silver on one side and white on the other. You can use any white nail art pen you have!
Orly- Black Vinyl

How I did it:
I started with a thin coat of a clear base coat. I polished my nail with three coats of For Audrey and then slapped on a medium coat of Seche. I let that dry for about twenty minutes.
For the snowman:
Use your white nail art pen to draw a circle in the middle of the bottom of your nail.
Fill that in. Then add a circle slightly smaller on top of that. Add the smallest circle last.
I used a silver nail art pen for my snowman's scarf- use whatever color you like.
Follow the line around the bottom of the smallest circle with the scarf color. Then add a V upside down shape where you want it. Voila! Scarf!
For his eyes, mouth,and buttons I used Orly-Liquid Vinyl and a dotting tool.
Just make two dots for eyes, a few dots for the mouth, and three buttons in the middle circle you drew. You can even add a orange triangle for a nose:)

I hope you guys enjoyed my Nails Of The Week! Tell me what you think in the comments!

22 November 2009

Pop Beauty Pin Up Pop- slightly a disappointment


Meet the Pin Up Pop mini palette from pop Beauty. I saw this in the Ulta catalog that just came out and immediately though "OH 9.99?! WANT. NEED." Cause hello? It's a higher end name and looked pretty. Plus the packaging is pretty and I'm a sucker for that.
Anyway. I figured this would be small, however holding it in my hands at Ulta on Friday night I had no idea it would be that small. The shadows are as small as they look in the picture. Imagine if you looked at your pinky finger and from the tip to just below the first knuckle, that would be how small these shadows are. Maybe I was just a tad over shocked about how little they were. But be forewarned- they are little!

When you open up the palette, which by the way, is not even six inches long, you see the shadows and little mirror attached to the top. I think the first four are supposed to be liners- one is black and sparkly, while the rest- a navy, a bright blue, and a dark green- are matte with very nice pigmentation.
The next four are all sparkly, the first I want to say is an extremely dark green with gold shimmer, then a light seafoam green that is more of a frost, an eggplant color, and a pretty light pinkish purple. All are pigmented nicely except the first one, I can't figure out what color it is and when swatched it doesn't compare to the others.
The last four shadows are the more boring neutral colors- still very pretty though. The first is a peach matte color, which is very nicely pigmented but chalky- something I didn't find with the other three mattes. Then there is a sparkly peachy pink color, a sparkly copper color, and a golden shimmery color. All are pigmented nicely as well.
I wore the eggplant and the pinkish purple color together today and after twelve hours it has faded quite a bit. Using a base of H.i.P paint in secretive, it was easy to blend but not great at building color.

Would I still have bought this if I knew how big it was? Probably not. I'll give it 3.5/5 stars. It's a good stocking stuffer for someone just getting into makeup- the colors range from neutral to bright and you can create a lot of looks with it. Most are very well pigmented and easy to work with.
Have any of you guys bought it? Thoughts?

Until next time divas!

21 November 2009

about me, contact info, and disclaimer


hi. I would be Ashleigh. I'm obsessed with all things beauty, mainly eyeshadow and nail polish. I started this blog [under the name confessions of a cheap shopaholic] to write about my deals and random cheap findings because if there is one thing I love more than makeup, it's cheap makeup. Also, to go with my youtube channel. Both things get neglected easily since I became a mama. I'm  21 and I live in Florida. My blog name came from my sweet baby girl, Scarlett. She's a diva in training:) I plan to review beauty products as well as baby products that make my life easy and happy. Any questions? Don't hesitate to ask!

relevant info:
i have  hazel green eyes, yes i wear contacts but never colored ones.
i have very pale skin with yellow undertones.
i have sensitive, combination skin.

email me at [both personal and professional inquiries]:
or find me on twitter:
i have a personal blog:
you can also find me on youtube:

everything on this blog was either paid for by me, bought for me by someone without a bribe [or in my other half's case, possibly a bribe], or sent to me via the generosity of another human being. free stuff does not affect my opinion on a product, bottom line. i always aim to give pros and cons of each product without being biased. if you feel like your product was unfairly reviewed, please contact me and we will discuss it.

Related Posts with Thumbnails



scarlett's mama reviews | Copyright 2009 - Designed by Gaganpreet Singh